Suncorp Stadium Aerial


At present, there are statues recognising the on-field achievements of four Queensland State of Origin champions.

These statues are located on the Northern Plaza (Caxton Street end). The text from their respective plaques is shown underneath each photo.


The Emperor of Lang Park



This honour was bestowed upon Wally Lewis by the former Chairman of the Queensland Rugby League, Senator and acclaimed father of State of Origin, the late Ron McAuliffe, in recognition of the impact Wally had on matches played at this ground across three decades.

Lewis is arguably the greatest rugby league player of all time. He is one of only a handful of players to be named a Rugby League Immortal and was one of the six inaugural members of the Australian Rugby League Hall of Fame.

He achieved the greatest honour in Rugby League: the captaincy of his country, but it was his feats as Queensland skipper and playmaker in State of Origin that he achieved legendary status.

He played 31 Origin games (30 as captain) and a record 8 Man of the Match awards over a 12-year period. The name Wally Lewis is synonymous with State of Origin and Queensland Rugby League and continues to be an inspiration to future generations of footballers.

Check out our exclusive Wally Lewis merchandise ➡️



Rugby League Immortal



Arthur Beetson achieved every major accolade in Rugby League both as a player and coach in a career that spanned more than a quarter of a century.

Beetson was born in Roma, Queensland on 22 January 1945, and died on 1 December 2011. He was regarded as the best post-war forward in Australian Rugby League history and the first Indigenous Australian to captain his country in any sport.

His record as a player included:


  • 54 first grade games for Redcliffe (1964-65 and 1981)

  • 223 first grade games in the NSWRL with Balmain, Eastern Suburbs and

  • Parramatta (1966-80)

  • 12 games for Hull Kingston Rovers (UK, 1968-69)

  • 2 NSWRL premierships with Eastern Suburbs – team captain (1974-75)

  • 1 State of Origin game for Queensland - team captain (1980)

  • 2 interstate games for Queensland (1981)

  • 17 interstate games for New South Wales (1966-77)

  • 1 game for New South Wales v Great Britain 1966

  • 28 Tests for Australia (1966-77)

His record as a coach included:

  • 196 games in the NSWRL with Eastern Suburbs (1977-78, 1985-88, and 1994) and Cronulla-Sutherland (1992-93)

  • 16 games Queensland State of Origin (1981-84 and 1989-90)

  • 1 Test for Australia (1983)

  • Redcliffe (1981-82)

He received the following recognitions:

  • Order of Australia in recognition of services to Rugby League (1987)

  • Australian Rugby League Hall of Fame (2003)

  • The 7th Australian Rugby League Immortal (2003)

  • Australian Rugby League Team of the Century, the Queensland Rugby League Team of the Century and the Indigenous Australians Rugby League Team of the Century (2008)



Champion player and leader



Darren Lockyer was a champion of his era, incomparable in the sport of Rugby League for his longevity and continued excellence at the highest level.

He held the following records upon his retirement in 2011:


  • Most Tests for Australia: 59 (1998 - 2011)

  • Most Tests for Australia as captain: 38 (2003 – 2011)

  • Most State of Origin games for Queensland: 36 (1998-2011)

  • Most NRL/ARL first grade appearances: 355 (1995-2011)

  • Most points for the Brisbane Broncos: 1277 (1995 – 2011)

  • Most appearances for the Brisbane Broncos: 366 (1995 – 2011. - 355 ARL/NRL, 11 WCC and Super League WCC)

To add to his illustrious list of achievements, he was:

  • Captain of Queensland during the Origin record – six series victory: 2006 – 11

  • Queensland Origin captain in 22 games (2004-2011)

  • Dally M Fullback of the Year, three times (1998, 2000, 2002)

  • Dally M Five-Eighth of the Year, twice (2000, 2002)

  • Golden Boot Award winner (world’s best player) twice (2003, 2006)

  • Captained the Broncos to a premiership (2006) and played in three other Broncos grand final wins (1997, 1998 and 2000)

  • Queensland Team of the Century: fullback (2008)

Beyond the records, Darren Lockyer was one of the greatest ambassadors for Rugby League in its history, among the most popular and respected players the sport has seen.

He played the game hard, in the greatest spirit and with remarkable natural brilliance and grace. For that alone, he is an icon of Queensland and Australian sport whose affinity with this Stadium is momentous.


Record breaking player and coach



Mal Meninga’s involvement in Rugby League at the top level, as a player who achieved every major honour and as a record breaking coach spans a period of more than 35 years.

Meninga was born in Bundaberg, Queensland on 8 July 1960. Upon his retirement as a player in 1994, he held the record for the most number of appearances and points scored for the Australian team and was the leading points scorer for the Queensland State of Origin side. As coach of the Queensland Maroons from 2006-13, Meninga delivered a record 8 consecutive Origin series wins.

His record as a player included:


  • 158 first grade games for the South Brisbane Magpies (1979-85)

  • 166 first grade games for the Canberra Raiders (1986-94)

  • 31 first grade games for St. Helens (UK 1984-85)

  • 2 BRL premierships with South Brisbane Magpies (1981 and 1985)

  • 3 NSWRL premierships as captain of the Canberra Raiders Magpies (1989, 1990 and 1994)

  • 32 State of Origin games for Queensland (1980 -94) – 9 as captain

  • 10 interstate and other games for Queensland (1979 – 85)

  • 46 Tests for Australia (1982-94) – 24 as captain

  • The only player to have been selected for 4 Kangaroos tours to Great Britain – 2 as captain

His record as a coach includes:

  • 125 games with the Canberra Raiders (1997-2001)

  • 30 games with the Queensland State of Origin team including a record 8 consecutive series wins (2006-13)

  • 8 games with the Prime Minister’s XIII (2005-12)

He holds the following honours:

  • Member of the Order of Australia in recognition of services to Rugby League (1994)

  • Australian Rugby League Hall of Fame (2003)

  • South Brisbane Magpies, Queensland Rugby League and Australian Rugby League Team of the Century (2008) and Canberra Raiders Greatest Team (2013).